EurAsiayour console hacking resource
Select topic
  Create an account Home  ·  Your Account  ·  Online Shop  ·  Forums  ·  Downloads new  ·  Wiki  
Main Menu
· Home
· About Us
· Downloads
· FAQ
· Forums
· Info Pages
· Members List
· Online Shop
· PDA - AvantGo
· Private Messages
· Search Stories
· Statistics
· Stories Archive
· Submit Story
· Top 10
· Topics
· Upload
· WAP
· Web Links
· Wiki
· Your Account
· Switch to HTTPS!

Online Shop
Credit Card

Bitcoin

EurAsia Online Shop
enter

new products
· PsNee modchip PSX
· R4i Gold 3DS RTS
· Mars Pro GM-816HD
· EurAsia File Collection 2017
· Matrix Infinity 2.0
· Modbo 5.0
· Screwdriver GC/SNES
· X360ACE V3
· E3 NOR Flasher
· Corona Postfix Adapter V2
· SuperCIC SNES kit
· SuperCIC cart key
· Gateway 3DS
· X360ACE V1
· 3k3y 3KR (SATA)
· Mtx Glitcher v1
· HAKKO WICK
· HAKKO PRESTO 980
· ULTRACORE Solder
· Crystal Oscillator 48MHz

complete price list

Tor Hidden Service
Tor Project
EurAsia Onion URL: wrqgfbrcgttkp6pi.onion

Who's Online
There are currently 483 guest(s) and 8 member(s) online.

consolexpert - jeeqer - levis4 - mimun - modrobert - ptirta - redcrazy - toolbandhoon

Welcome honored guest. You can register for free by clicking here.

Site Protection
INFOSEC
BM

Hot Wikis
· PS4 Exploit using Raspberry Pi
· Switch Key List
· PS4 firmware updates
· 3k3y nokeys ISO tutorial
· 3DS game fw updates
· 3k3y microSD recovery
· PS3 SKU Models
· PS3 Metldrpwn
· Xk3y microSD recovery
· Xbox360 motherboards
· Xbox360 Reset Glitch Hack
· PS3 Blu-ray Drive
· Homemade Sputnik360
· PS3 BD drive swap
· PSP Crypto Keys
· PS3_Crypto_Keys
· PS3 Hypervisor RE
· PS3 Dongle User Guide
· PSGroove tutorial
· Xecuter LT Fakir
· PS3 YLOD Fix
· NSMB Modchip Tutorial
· PS3 Glitch Hack
· Xbox360NoDvdRom
· Ps3FactoryRestore
· Free60JtagHack
· Ps3HddDecrypt
· WiiKey2EjectFix
· SaveMiiFree
· WiiHwDiagram
· Ps3OsRels
· PandoraNoHomebrewPsp
· GcOsMultiGameWiiHowTo
· Xbox360LinuxBurn
· Xbox360EraserFix
· Xbox360Kernel
· Xbox360DisasmXtreme
· Ps2HdlPatchTutorial
· Ps2VersionTable
· XboxErrorCodes
· XboxVersionTable
· GameCubeLaserTweak
· ModchipSolderingGuide
· PspUmdIsoHaxorLinux

RSS Feed
News & Downloads & Wiki

IRC
#eur
EFnet

Hosted By

Ad

Respected Sites
· Home of the Hitmen
· radare
· gc-forever
· pouet.net
· English Amiga Board
· GXArena OFW Repo
· WiiBrew
· WiiUBrew
· 3DBrew
· SwitchBrew
· Games and Consoles
· Maxconsole.com
· Console Wizard
· GameCube Linux
· Xbox Linux
· Xbox-Scene.com
· XboxHacker.Net
· xbins.org
· Doom9.net
· bunnie's blog
· debugmo.de
· GX-Mod.com
· ElOtroLado.net
· uCON64
· GBADEV.ORG
· GBAtemp.net
· PocketHeaven.com
· PDRoms
· GameSX.com
· ASSEMbler
· phrack.org
· Woz.org

Support...

Bitcoin

Namecoin

radare

OpenCores
Electronic Frontier Foundation
Amnesty International

Nectarine Radio

Demovibes Radio

GNU
Linux
Mozilla

Total Page Views
We received
154864976
page views since June 2002


Moderated by: Robert

EurAsia : Index » » Classic consoles... » » SNES SuperCIC installs...
New Topic   Post Reply
Author SNES SuperCIC installs...
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34452 posted 2015-04-05 @ 18:51 GMT   
This is the SuperCIC install topic for SNES (Super Nintendo Entertainment System / Super Famicom). Feel free to post questions, answers and photos of your install here.

SuperCIC by ikari_01 uses a PIC16F630 circuit to cleverly utilize the SNES reset button as a PAL/NTSC switch (no external switch needed) and it replaces the original CIC effectively disabling region protection, it also drives a "DUO-LED" (replacement for SNES red power LED) to display current region mode.

Here is my install (I did not remove the original CIC, just lifted pins according to diagram)...



PIC16F630 hot glued on the mobo



This the common cathode "DUO-LED" after removing the original red LED.


I had some problems with the reset line at first, the SNES kept resetting and the DUO-LED cycled colors, so I moved PIC16F630 pin 13 to original CIC pin 8 instead of the point used in ikari_01's diagram, it worked fine after that.

These tutorials helped a lot:

https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Super+Nintendo+Motherboard+Replacement/3873

http://wolfsoft.de/wordpress/?p=603

http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/snes-switchless-modchip/

Quote:
Thanks to Maximilian Rehkopf alias ikari_01 we can proudly present a new switchless Mod for the SNES.

I done the first modification at a PAL SNES, but it should work on US and japanese SNES too.



Quote:
First of all, special thanks to Ikari_01 who made this possible, this is the ultimate SNES modification, it even works on the SA-1 circuit board games I have (SFC Kirby 3 and SFC Super Mario RPG), games using the SA-1 board a notoriously difficult to run on modified consoles.



Download SuperCIC related files with this search.

[ This message was edited by modrobert on 2015-04-05 @ 19:19 GMT ]
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
boxcutter



general

Registered: 2006-04-17
From: Europe
Messages: 1711
Status: Offline
 _#34453 posted 2015-04-06 @ 15:50 GMT   
i devised a way to do full region-free and auto PAL/NTSC switching with NOTHING other than kynar wire.

unfortunatly i cant test it because i cant find my snes anymore!


[ This message was edited by boxcutter on 2015-04-06 @ 15:50 GMT ]

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34454 posted 2015-04-07 @ 00:49 GMT   
How do you emulate the CIC responses using only wire? With this mod you can remove the original CIC on the motherboard (or lift 4 pins as I did).
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
boxcutter



general

Registered: 2006-04-17
From: Europe
Messages: 1711
Status: Offline
 _#34455 posted 2015-04-07 @ 02:44 GMT   
you probably already know the old cic bypass,
you lift the cic output and link the reset button-circuit to the ppu reset line(s) through an invertor.
well there is an invertor on the board with 2 unused gates.


now about the cic.
it's not really a protection check, it simply checks to see if the cartridge has the correct region.
if it does then the output is high, otherwise it's low.

you can use the lifted cic output to feed the ppu(s) PAL/NTSC control pin(s)
if it's a PAL console then do it direct, if it's NTSC then do it through one of the invertors.

the result is the console video output will switch to match the cart region!!!


[ This message was edited by boxcutter on 2015-04-07 @ 02:47 GMT ]

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34456 posted 2015-04-07 @ 03:42 GMT   
Yes, I know the old ways of switching with one pin lifted on CIC.

However, the SuperCIC is not a simple bypass like the old mods, the PIC also emulates CIC i/o based on the reversing work done by Segher back in January 2010.

This is the reason SuperCIC requires lifting of CIC pins 1,2, 10 and 11 (or complete removal of original CIC).

These modes are supported with SuperCIC.

Quote:
a) 50Hz Mode is active (green)

If you insert a PAL-Game, it will start with 50Hz
If you insert a NTSC-Game, it will start with 50Hz (if Pin 4 is set GND)
If you insert a NTSC-Game, it will start with 60Hz and switches to 50Hz after 9 sec. (if Pin 4 is set 5V)
If you insert a Game without CIC, it will start with 50Hz

b) 60Hz Mode is active (red)

If you insert a NTSC-Game, it will start with 60Hz
If you insert a PAL-Game, it will start with 60Hz (if Pin 4 is set GND)
If you insert a PAL-Game, it will start with 50Hz and switches to 60Hz after 9 sec. (if Pin 4 is set 5V)
If you insert a Game without CIC, it will start with 60Hz

c) Auto Mode is actice (orange)

starting the Game in its native frequence.

If you insert a NTSC-Game, it will start with 60Hz
If you insert a PAL-Game, it will start with 50Hz
If you insert a Game without CIC, it will start with 60Hz



The benefit with this mod is that it has better game/cart compatibility, problem titles actually work with this mod as opposed to the old way (1 pin lifted on CIC) way of doing things.

BTW: This forum thread over at NesDev has a lot of info.

[ This message was edited by modrobert on 2015-04-07 @ 04:08 GMT ]
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
boxcutter



general

Registered: 2006-04-17
From: Europe
Messages: 1711
Status: Offline
 _#34457 posted 2015-04-07 @ 05:03 GMT   
i know what super-cic does,

BUT some games check the video-mode as a second line of protection.
so you must have PAL games in PAL and NTSC games inNTSC for full compatability.

so as long as your cic isnt faulty my mod will give you as much compatability as super-cic - maybe better.
i read that the super-cic has some issues with comms timing on a few newer game carts.

actually i WAS going to use a microcontroller to replace the cic before i read about the super-cic,
but after looking at the schems for a while i realised i didnt need one.

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34458 posted 2015-04-07 @ 05:28 GMT   
Quote:
On 2015-04-07 @ 05:03 GMT, boxcutter wrote:
so as long as your cic isnt faulty my mod will give you as much compatability as super-cic - maybe better.



No, if you are only using one CIC it will not have better compatibility, since you can't change its behavior.


Quote:
On 2015-04-07 @ 05:03 GMT, boxcutter wrote:
i read that the super-cic has some issues with comms timing on a few newer game carts.



The SuperCIC timing problem was fixed by ikari_01 back in April 2010, current release is OK.


Quote:
On 2015-04-07 @ 05:03 GMT, boxcutter wrote:
BUT some games check the video-mode as a second line of protection.
so you must have PAL games in PAL and NTSC games inNTSC for full compatability.



Yes, that is the reason for the 9 second delay mode before switching region in SuperCIC, to bypass checks in the game software itself.


Quote:
On 2015-04-07 @ 05:03 GMT, boxcutter wrote:
actually i WAS going to use a microcontroller to replace the cic before i read about the super-cic,
but after looking at the schems for a while i realised i didnt need one.



Actually you do, if you want compatibility with the problem games mentioned in the forum thread I linked previously.
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
boxcutter



general

Registered: 2006-04-17
From: Europe
Messages: 1711
Status: Offline
 _#34465 posted 2015-04-07 @ 13:37 GMT   
you know the cic just controls the reset line based on the region of the cart right?

[ This message was edited by boxcutter on 2015-04-07 @ 14:39 GMT ]

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34466 posted 2015-04-08 @ 04:52 GMT   
No, the CIC is a 4-bit "CPU" in the SNES which also runs lock code over two i/o pins connected to the CIC in the inserted game/cart which runs the key code. You can find more info here.

Basically both the CIC circuits sends a bunch of bytes between console and cart, if the response is bad in either direction the CIC lock chip resets the console. Some carts/games are designed to check the CIC status in software, some even have additional circuitry, and then it is not enough to just cut the reset line on the console side. Granted, the game carts doing the extra checks are few (eg. Super Mario RPG, Star Ocean), and it matters mostly when using original carts since ROMs can be patched.

[ This message was edited by modrobert on 2015-04-08 @ 05:28 GMT ]
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
crispycritter911



general

Registered: 2004-08-17
Messages: 1857
Status: Offline
 _#34473 posted 2015-04-11 @ 07:19 GMT   
I cooked my 1Chip SNES after doing a SuperCIC with IGR. Come to find out that the voltage regulator decided to shoot out 9 volts thus killing it. I got a new 2 chip SNES and have issues with jail bars on my system. Worse when using the SD2SNES cart. I've recapped the entire motherboard, tried RGB mod. Grabbed it directly off of the PPU it self. Still have issues. Also noticed Mario Kart glitches out on the SD2SNES on this current console where as the 1 chip didn't glitch out at all. I believe my next and last step is to replace the voltage regulator and see if that fixes it.

You might be interested in looking at Borti4938's github site.
https://github.com/borti4938

I've done the switchless mod for N64 overclocking but haven't figured out the NES IGR. He too makes a solution for SNES or IGR and SuperCIC. His have a bit more control and offers a $213F patch as well.

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34474 posted 2015-04-11 @ 09:19 GMT   
OK, I haven't tried the SD2SNES or IGR, using Pro Fighter X Turbo at the moment.
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
crispycritter911



general

Registered: 2004-08-17
Messages: 1857
Status: Offline
 _#34475 posted 2015-04-11 @ 19:14 GMT   
Quote:
On 2015-04-11 @ 09:19 GMT, modrobert wrote:
OK, I haven't tried the SD2SNES or IGR, using Pro Fighter X Turbo at the moment.




SD2SNES is one of the best on the market. Also the most expensive. I've read knock off units will have issues with Mario Kart a few other titles. I know mine isn't a clone because Mario Kart worked just fine on the 1chip before it cooked.

SD2SNES will hopefully one day be able to emulate SuperFX games.

Also the software IGR can cause gltiches. Tetris attack, the game starts out normal. Then Yoshi's eyes become blood red like he was binge smoking pot. Then all the pieces in the game lose all detail, rendering the game unplayable.

[ This message was edited by crispycritter911 on 2015-04-11 @ 19:21 GMT ]

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34476 posted 2015-04-12 @ 06:03 GMT   
Yes, IGR is asking for trouble (déjà vu Xbox) when it comes to compatibility. My copier (Pro Fighter X Turbo) works fine with Mario Kart, and it was manufactured back in 1995, hehe. Granted, it is from an era when SNES copiers were mass produced.
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
K405



donor

Registered: 2005-02-16
Messages: 47
Status: Offline
 _#34477 posted 2015-04-12 @ 08:58 GMT   
Cool stuff!

Got the parts laying around for ages, need time to do the install, grrrr.
Got an SD2SNES as well.

 Profile  pm    Quote
crispycritter911



general

Registered: 2004-08-17
Messages: 1857
Status: Offline
 _#34478 posted 2015-04-17 @ 05:24 GMT   
Figured the glitching. Downgraded to 1.6 on SD2SNES all the stability is back. Mario Kart isn't glitching. Still have my Super CIC and IGR.

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34480 posted 2015-04-17 @ 05:55 GMT   
I've checked the SD2SNES project source code, impressive work, and ikari_01 seems to be using Spartan 6 FPGA which is kind of pricey. Still, I wonder what makes the final product cost over USD $200? Perhaps because it is built after order, low volume.
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
crispycritter911



general

Registered: 2004-08-17
Messages: 1857
Status: Offline
 _#34485 posted 2015-04-18 @ 05:11 GMT   
Who knows, I am sure the man needs to support his family. I have the E revision of the board. Rev. F is out now. It was redesigned after noticing a strange issue with wave lines of interference on the SNES mini/Jr. They added two parts on the power and ground lines to filter out any interference. It can be modified from E to F fairly easily...

 Profile  pm    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34486 posted 2015-04-18 @ 05:43 GMT   
The PCB design files are also in the github repository, so I doubt that ikari_01 is the one producing the final product, could be anyone. I'm guessing the added components (E -> F) are capacitors for filtering.
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
modrobert



donor

Registered: 2003-10-17
From: Bangkok
Messages: 6382
Status: Online
 _#34487 posted 2015-04-18 @ 05:56 GMT   
Perhaps krikzz is the guy producing it?
  _____________________________ ____________     __________________ /\________
  \    __________________      \      _____/____/     _    \       /_        /
 /     /       |       l/     _/    ____)     _/      _     \     \/  cREAM /
/______________l_______/       \______________\_______|      \_   /________/
 -+--Mo!-------------- \________/ ------------------- l_______/_____\ -----+-

 Profile  pm  www    Quote
_
New Topic   Post Reply
Jump To
 

All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners.
Comments and forum messages are owned by the Poster.